INTRODUCTION TO POTTERY

This course is aimed at beginners who would like to learn the basics of throwing skills and improvers. The morning will cover clay preparation and centering clay on the wheel and throwing a basic cylinder. If you are seeking to improve your technique then this session can also be used on a form of your choice to refine your skills, or as a full day workshop.

Beginner sessions (£50 per person) are available fortnightly on Wednesday mornings 10am-12.30pm, with the option to book separately for Farm Lunch at the Old Dairy Kitchen afterwards.

Full day improvers workshops (£100 per person) are available fortnightly on Wednesdays 10am - 4.30pm and include a delicious, seasonal lunch at the Old Dairy Kitchen.

Maximum 2 people per session.

Please wear old clothes that you do not mind getting dirty, and bring an apron if you have one. Please note that firing is not included, but you are welcome to take your pots and have them fired elsewhere.

 

Course leader - Ali Herbert

Ali trained in Ceramics at Loughborough College of Art and also completed a postgraduate diploma at Goldsmiths University London. Ali also completed a training in production pottery for 3 years under the instruction of John Leach at Muchelney Pottery in Langport, Somerset. Ali was one of a handful of apprentices trained by John Leach and Nick Rees at Muchelney and has also worked alongside Micki Schoessingk at her beautiful Pottery in Cheriton, Gower, South Wales.

Ali has travelled and worked across the World and this has influenced her work. In Africa she was employed as a VSO technical lead at a pottery in the middle belt of Nigeria. She would fill her sketchbook with drawings of the surrounding nature in her spare time and drawing continues to be a regular part of her practice.

Ali has just moved to a new studio at Trill Farm. Her influences and sources of inspiration as well as everyday life in the studio at Trill Farm are documented on Instagram. Her work is available to view and buy on her website.

Image by Nick Ivins.

BOOKING INFO

Beginner's sessions, 10am-12.30pm, £50 per person

Improver's workshops, 10am-4.30pm, £100 per person including lunch at the Old Dairy Kitchen

To enquire about availability or to book, please contact Ali Herbert directly.
phone: 07845 395722
email: aliherbertceramics@gmail.com
website: aliherbert.com/courses/

Dates
Wednesday 13th November
Wednesday 27th November
Wednesday 11th December
Wednesday 18th December
Thursday 5th March 2020
Thursday 19th March 2020
Thursday 23rd April 2020
Thursday 30th April 2020
Thursday 14th May 2020
Thursday 21st May 2020
Thursday 11th June 2020
Thursday 25th June 2020
Thursday 9th July 2020
Thursday 16th July 2020
Thursday 6th August 2020
Thursday 13th August 2020

To book a Farm Lunch after a morning session, please visit The Old Dairy Kitchen website here.